TO-DO LISTS: I’ll show you mine if you show me yours

I like killing two birds with one stone.

Sometimes you have to multitask when it gets a little crazy. I should have told you this a couple weeks back. Contrary to popular belief, mixing business with pleasure as often as you can can sometimes keep you sane.

Sometimes you’re too busy to do anything but two things at once.

For example, this particular stone is killing four birds. I’m having a nice cold Red Racer Extra Special Bitter while I blog, make a to-do list, and pray to the damned heavenly father to get me through the foreseeable future. (I’m not religious. That was a reference to the song choice for this week. The song is great, by the way.)

I know we’re all swamped. Here’s my to-do.

I’m going to arrange this by class and make some effort at chronology. While I normally hate when people gripe about their workloads, I’m a big fan of competition. Let’s compare lengths. I promise not to fluff.

Advertising

  1. Create app content and order information for a Creative Communications tablet app in conjunction with the graphic designers. (Stages: outline October 14, content draft October 20, final content October 27. All about that #content.)
  2. Develop a big idea for the campaign client for this year, the United Way of Winnipeg. (Not sure when this is due, but sometime in the next week or so. I swear this takes longer than you think. Or I’m just anal.)
  3. Continue to work with graphic designers to create Signature Awards theme creative executions. (Also not sure when this is due. I think two weeks from now. Can’t wait to appropriate someone else’s design work for my portfolio. Heh.)
  4. Keep up with the blog. (It’s hard. It took me like a week to think of a topic and I settled on this one.)
  5. Adworthy presentation (October 20. I’m thinking of talking about Ello. What pretentious social network, or pretentious anything really, is complete without a manifesto?)

Radio

  1. Two blinks. One for Lasertopia (anybody been? I haven’t played laser tag since I was 11. Are there still rusty nails poking out of the battleground?) and one for a sporting goods store I’ve never heard of. (October 14. I can’t wait to jump on a microphone and get embarrassed at the sound of my own falsely enthusiastic and overproduced voice. Society isn’t evolved enough yet for that kind of shame.)

Image Editing and Web Design

  1. Haven’t got the assignment sheet yet, but there’s some web design on the horizon and I’m terrified of it. This to-do entry counts more as a cope-with-your-dread entry.

Oral Presentation

  1. I’m going to persuade all of you that guns are bad in seven minutes with sweaty palms, a shaky voice and an unzipped fly. (October 16.)

Marketing

  1. Situation analysis for this year’s client, the Red River Ex. (October 16, I think.)

Advanced Desktop Publishing

  1. Conceptualize and create a logo, business cards, a letterhead, and something else I can’t remember right now. (October 27. Again, I think. Watching me work in Illustrator is like watching a newborn infant try to gum a lobster claw.)

IPP

  1. Write literally a thousand pages of speculative fiction for midterm draft due date. Not a thousand. I lied. Closer to 70. Too many. Happy Thanksgiving, everyone. (October 17.)
  2. Complete a midterm marketing plan of six to seven pages.

Well, that about covers it off. The school part, at least. Luckily I have three Thanksgiving dinners to ease my pain over the weekend.

I showed you mine. Show me your to-do. Also, friends — let me know if I missed anything. That would be bad.

2 thoughts on “TO-DO LISTS: I’ll show you mine if you show me yours

Leave a comment